I’m Going to be a Challenger

Bina Antarbudaya
3 min readDec 28, 2022

--

Yulfina — INA AKP to Japan YP 22/23

Minnasan konnichiwa!

みんなさんこんにちは

My name is Yulfina from Asia Kakehashi 2022–23. I’m 16 years old, my friends in Japan call me Yuri「ユリ」and my placement in Fukuoka, Kyushu. This is a story about my life in the dream country of many people. I wrote this story about one of my most memorable experiences which was like a rollercoaster ride with many ups and downs.

I’m a very determined person and go after what I want. Even when I applied for this program I remained not worrying about my shortcomings or results.

I’ve been living in Japan for 3 months, and it has been challenging but I am a winner. I love public speaking. But this time I had to speak in a language I did not know very well. At first I presented about Indonesia in front of my class. I also performed a traditional dance at the Hakata chapter welcome party. Recently I gave global campus presentation on world issues with my classmates and APU leader「G探」. My Japanese may not be very fluent yet but I determined to learn.

Presented about Indonesia in front of my class.
Me, friends, teachers and leaders of APU in the global campus fashion show.

How did I feel at that time? The atmosphere and the pressure I felt at that time was very different and foreign. This was my first time doing a big presentation. I was nervous and forgot the content. I tried to calm down. I just a neophyte frog, who be downed in the ocean. Swimming is the only way of survive and no one teach me. Here I faced many sudden things and sudden challenges, but I got used to it and now I understand what to do, Because the experience challenged me and made me grow stronger . will be tired because of going to the middle of the deep sea, but more and more swimming we will get used to the temperature of the ocean is getting colder. It’s not that I’m currently in the mix, even while writing this I’m thinking a lot about people’s responses, of course right now I’m still in the sea, but I’m also looking forward to my progress after the program.

This experience also taught me how to swim with style, teaching me what’s in the next 10 meters. People around me train mentally and my abilities are not physical, but I feel they are not used to being unable to reason. Anyone can, “the kids here are all working hard, so also you try to do your best, you’re currently studying in Japan” my sensei’s words made me think that looking like a coward makes a lot of excuses for not being able to.

Thank you for reading, follow me on instagram @ylfnaa_

--

--

Bina Antarbudaya

The Indonesian Foundation for Intercultural Learning Official Partner of AFS Programs